The archaeological excavation site at Eleutherna
The map of the site shows how extensive it is. The area we visited is
number 7, in the centre of the map
We climbed up onto the platform, and looked down on an amazing sight of artifacts
that had lain buried for 3,000 years.
Nikos and Çiğdem
Chania Cathedral, dedicated to Panagia Trimartyri (Virgin of the Three Martyrs),
the patron saint of Chania.
Etz Hayyim, a unique little Romaniote synagogue in the old town's former Jewish quarter, which dates from the 14th century. Destroyed in WWII, this synagogue was lovingly restored by the famous writer, cook and artist Nikos Stavroulakis.
As we walked through the town, we came across these men
playing backgammon, just as they do in Turkey.
The Greek Orthodox Church of Agios Nikolaos was constructed in 1320
by the Dominican brotherhood of Kantia.
In 1645, the church was later converted into the main mosque of the city, the Mosque of Sultan Ibrahim, also called the Hugar Mosque or Mosque of the Ruler. A minaret was added on its south side, as can be seen on the right.
Chania lighthouse, lit by the dying rays of the sun, is one of the oldest light houses in the world.
First built by the Venetians between 1595 and 1601, it took its final form, in the shape of a minaret, during the Egyptian Period (1831 - 1841).
St Nicholas Bastion, illuminated at night, is in the middle of the breakwater, and helped
defend the harbour from raiders.